Showcasing the very best in literature for the young, Ravenstone is a brand new publishing imprint bringing works of quality fiction to young readers around the world.

Dedicated to works of genre-busting adventure and incisive and challenging writing, Ravenstone will publish one book a season and exists to highlight extraordinary new novels for children and young adults.

Ravenstone’s titles will be published in hardback, paperback and e-book formats in the US and the UK, allowing new generations of readers the chance to explore new worlds and new horizons.

For forthcoming advance review copies and author interviews, please contact:

PR Coordinator
press@rebellion.co.uk

The Devil's Apprentice - Out Now!
The Devil is retiring… but who’s taking over? When teenaged Pen inherits the job of caretaker for a London building with no doors and only a secret entrance from the caretaker’s lodge – which she must never use – little does she know it will lead her into unbelievable danger.

For Azmordis, also known as Satan, a spirit as old as time and as powerful as the Dark, immortality is running out.

In the house with no front door, a group of teenagers are trapped in assorted dimensions of myth and history, undergoing the trials that will shape them to step into his cloven footwear – or destroy them. assisted by only by an aspiring young chef called Gavin, and Jinx, a young witch with more face-piercing than fae-power, Pen must try to stop the Devil’s deadly game plan – before it’s too late...

"Jan Siegel is probably the best British fantasy writer working today, and The Devil's Apprentice is, true to form, a box of delights. It is entirely unmissable." - World Fantasy Award-winning author Lavie Tidhar

Available in ePub and Mobi formats, direct from our Online Store!
The Inspiration for Lupus Rex by John Carter Cash
I must give a great deal of the credit for the inspiration to write Lupus Rex to my daughter, AnnaBelle, now eleven. A few years back I was driving her to school. Every day, on our regular route we passed a large field, sown in oats. Most days there was a large red-tailed hawk perched on a high fence post, looking over the field.

“Daddy, what do hawks eat?” she innocently asked one day.

I shifted somewhat uncomfortably in my seat. “Honey, they eat mice, doves, rabbits—whatever they can catch,” I answered.

It was this simple bit of conversation which inspired me to return home that very morning and write the long form poem, really a story song, within the book.

All my life I have believed that there is far more to nature than we are aware. Perhaps the animals, birds—even the creepy crawly things, communicate in ways we can never understand. Maybe there is a conscious mind, a greater purpose to the life at work beneath the surface of our understanding… An “ORDER”.

And of course, there is the very real mystery of the crows. When I was a boy of nine I went on a family vacation with my parents, just the three of us. We went Scotland—it was cold. If I remember correctly it was January. All of the hotels we stayed at were mostly empty. I remember one morning at breakfast looking out the window to see the trees around the hotel black with hundreds of crows. They circled the building continuously, cawing angrily. The hotel manager said they came every year, that specific week—for no apparent reason. He called it “The Wedding of the Crows.”

And of course, there is the fact that a group of these raucous birds is called a “murder”. This fascinated me from an early age. The folklore around this is quite mysterious. The legend tells that a group of crows will surround one of the murder, listen to his squawking and cawing for a while, then either allow him to rejoin the group or all dive upon him and kill him.

My father, John R Cash, better known as Johnny, was much more than a musician and entertainer. He had a resounding depth of heart and understanding of nature and it’s inner workings. I grew up on a farm in Hendersonville, Tennessee. Often on cold winter’s days we would hunt rabbits, with our beagle, Gibbs. There was a thin blanket snow covering the ground that day—only three inches, but quite a bit for middle Tennessee. After hunting for over an hour with no luck we heard a great cacophony of cawing and screeching from a nearby grove of cedars.

“You hear that, son?” asked my father.

“Wow, Dad,” I said. “Those birds sound angry.”

We wound our way through the thick woods, closer and closer to the crows.

Finally, I saw their dark shapes flying back and forth within the thick evergreens. As we neared, the birds sensed or smelled us, perhaps both. They flushed in a pounding of roaring wings.

There at the base of one of the cedars lay a bloody, dead crow.

My father and I knelt down to inspect it.

“Looks like this one was found guilty, son,” he said.

True story. It is this very real memory that, among other things, gave inspiration to the story within Lupus Rex.

So though Lupus Rex is most certainly and completely a work of fantasy, perhaps reading this novel will bring to mind a deeper question: Is there a far greater depth to the mystery of nature than we can imagine?

John Carter Cash
Hernando Beach, Florida
March 2013
Lupus Rex Signing at BEA!
Lupus Rex, by the high-profile musician and writer John Carter Cash, is Ravenstone’s stunning debut title launching at Book Expo America!

Along with signings at BEA, John will be launching his first children’s novel at the Union Square store of Barnes and Noble on Saturday 1st June at 2.30pm.

Dedicating the book to his father Johnny Cash, a decade after his death, Cash has created a beautiful and haunting book for readers of all ages in the tradition of Watership Down, and The Rats of Nimh.

With touching animal characters and a magical woodland setting, with his first novel Cash shows himself to be an incredibly lyrical writer.
Cash has also taken the songs sung in the book and set them to music. The first track, The Quail Song, can be heard on Soundcloud!

Ysil and Cormo are two quail who must risk their lives when they are driven from their home by the crows when the Murder fractures over the decision of who shall rule the Tree. The disorder this brings to the region comes to the attention of the wolf Asmod and he sees an opportunity to make himself King. To restore order the quails must venture far from their home to seek an audience with a potentially dangerous ally, the hawk Pitrin. As the forest trembles with the approach of Asmod’s army, the two quail will find themselves entangled in an epic struggle, as they fight to bring peace to the Field.

With a stylish and classic cover by ‘Wicked’ series artist Douglas Smith, this tale of nature is full of strong characters and sets the bar very high for an emerging literary talent.

JOHN CARTER CASH LUPUS REX BEA SCHEDULE
Friday 31st, 3pm – signing session in Autograph Area.
Saturday 1st June, 10.45am – signing session at Rebellion Publishing booth #2748.
Saturday 1st June, 2.30pm – Lupus Rex Launch and Children’s Storytime at Barnes and Noble Union Square, 33 East 17th Street, New York.
Launch Title
The imprint’s launch title will be the beautiful debut novel Lupus Rex, by the high-profile musician and writer John Carter Cash. To be published in June 2013, Lupus Rex will have enormous appeal to children and older readers alike. This astonishing new tale is in the tradition of Watership Down, The Rats of Nimh, the Redwall series and Duncton Wood.

Isyl and Cormo are two quail who must risk their lives when they are driven from their home by the crows when the Murder fractures over the decision of who shall rule the Tree. The disorder this brings to the region comes to the attention of the wolf Asmod and he sees an opportunity to make himself King. To restore order the quails must venture far from their home to seek an audience with a potentially dangerous ally, the hawk Pitrin. As the forest trembles with the approach of Asmod’s army, the two quail will find themselves entangled in an epic struggle, as they fight to bring peace to the Field.

This is a major release from a debut imprint and Cash shows himself to be a beautiful writer in his first novel. With a stylish and classic cover by ‘Wicked’ series artist Douglas Smith, this tale of nature is full of strong characters and sets the bar very high for an emerging literary talent.

Available in ePub and Mobi formats, direct from our Online Store!
About John Carter Cash
The only son to Johnny Cash and June Carter Cash, John Carter Cash is a singer-songwriter and record producer. He is also the author of his mother’s biography, Anchored in Love. His first children’s book, Momma Loves Her Little Son, was released on March 24, 2009 and published by Simon & Schuster. Artist Marc Burckhardt provided the unique and beautiful illustrations. In May 2010, the second book in the series, Daddy Loves His Little Girl, was released. John Carter’s third children’s book, The Cat in the Rhinestone Suit, was published as a Spring 2012 release and is illustrated by Scott Nash. Lupus Rex is his novel debut. John Carter Cash owns and operates the Cash Cabin Studio near Nashville, Tennessee. His production company is Cash Productions, LLC. He often performs and works in the studio with his wife Laura Cash, who is an accomplished fiddle player and vocalist. John Carter Cash lives in Hendersonville, TN and is the father of three.